Minimum State Insurance Requirements
The state of Nebraska follows a Tort system meaning someone must be found to be at fault for causing the accident, and that person and their insurance company is responsible for all the damages. You should be aware that the details of a tort system vary from state to state and it is best to check with your state insurance regulator. Visit our State Insurance Regulators page for a list of links to all the state insurance regulators websites.
Nebraska state law requires a minimum coverage of $25,000 per injured person up to a total of $50,000 for everyone hurt in the accident, and coverage of $25,000 for property damages. This basic coverage is often referred to as a 25/50/25 coverage.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP) in your coverage helps pay for "reasonable and necessary" medical expenses for you and your passengers. While Nebraska state law does not require a minimum Personal Injury Protection, most insurers offer this as an optional coverage.