Teen learning to drive or taking driving test.

Joshua's Law

Complete Joshua’s Law Requirements Online

All 16-year-olds applying for a Class D driver’s license in the state of Georgia are required by Joshua’s Law (Senate Bill 226) to complete an approved 30-hour driver education course in addition to 40 hours of supervised driving. Georgia students who don’t complete the course won’t be eligible for a Class D driver’s license until the age of 17.

Our Georgia DDS-approved driver’s ed course is 100% online and satisfies Joshua’s Law classroom requirement. This guide provides an overview on how to easily meet the requirements needed to get you or your child safely behind the wheel.

How to Meet Joshua’s Law Requirements

There are two primary components to Joshua’s Law: classroom instruction and training behind the wheel.

Driver Education Course

Joshua’s Law requires 30 hours of driver’s education. The course must be approved by the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) in order to be eligible. Our DDS-approved course provides the following benefits:

100% online

24/7 course access and live student support

Graphics and animations for easy learning

No testing or certification fees

Automatic completion reporting to the Georgia DDS

Free emailed certificate of completion within 1–2 business days

Up to $150 in tax credit

Money back guarantee

Course Benefits for Students

  1. Because our Joshua’s Law online course is Georgia DDS approved, the class fully meets the 30-hour classroom requirement. You can fulfill the 40 hours of supervised driving concurrently. Once you’re done with the class and the supervised driving, you’re eligible for your provisional license.
  2. We take on the responsibility of reporting your course completion to the state by essentially acting as a liaison between you and the DMV. Simply complete the class online and we’ll take care of the rest.
  3. The class is 100% online. With 24/7 access, you can work on your own time and at your own pace. If you’re going to spend 30 hours in class, you might as well spend it in the comfort of your home.

Course Benefits for Parents

  1. Your teen is busy, which means you’re busy. Our Joshua’s Law training is 100% online, meaning your teen can complete the course at a time and pace that fits both of your schedules.
  2. We meet all of the requirements of the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS). This Joshua’s Law class is mandatory for your teen if they want their provisional license before they’re 17 years old. Rest assured that our approved course will give your teen the credit needed to get a Class D driver’s license.
  3. We directly report to the state, so you don’t have to worry about notifying the DDS of your teen’s completion of the course. We automatically send the report for you.
  4. We offer student support 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Even if your teen is working late, we’re available to answer any questions that come up.

What Our Course Looks Like

  • Our course is 30 hours long to meet Joshua’s Law requirements. It is a combination of two elements: text and video.
  • Essentially, each unit has a built in timer. This is to satisfy state law requirements for timing. If you are a particularly fast learner or if you finish your reading or work early, you simply have to wait for the timer to expire before moving on to the next “module” or “unit.” Most students completely finish their coursework within 30-40 hours.
  • There is a quiz at the end of each unit that you must pass in order to move on in the course (this isn’t our rule, it’s a state requirement). You have three chances to pass a quiz. If you don’t pass after the third attempt, Georgia law requires that you restart the course.
  • Our course is heavily flash based. It’s a good idea to take this course using a flash-friendly browser like Google Chrome.
  • After successful completion of the course, we will email you a certificate of completion within two days.

What Will You Learn?

Our Joshua’s Law training course is based on the Driver Training Curriculum Standards (DTCS) issued by the state of Georgia.  According to these standards, we’ve developed a course that covers:

  1. We’ll address traffic laws, licensing procedures and basic vehicle operating procedures.
  2. You will learn how momentum, gravity and inertia affect vehicle control and balance. Also, we’ll go over the relationship between kinetic energy and force of impact — this will include proper seating position, hand position, steering, braking and acceleration.
  3. We will go over different kinds of collisions and how to avoid them, how to avoid potential conflicts and how to deal with controlled and uncontrolled intersections, curves, railroad crossings and hills.
  4. We’ll cover how to drive on an expressway (including merging and changing lanes) and how to communicate with other drivers.
  5. You’ll learn how alcohol and drugs affect you psychologically and physiologically and the legal consequences of drinking, using drugs and driving.
  6. We’ll discuss the potential consequences of aggressive driving and fatigue, how physical and mental disabilities can affect you on the road, how to identify and deal with distractions, and how to take into account environmental changes that could potentially affect your visibility and traction (this includes driving at night and in inclement weather.
  7. We will show you how to correctly use vehicle occupant protection features including your seatbelt, car seats and other active and passive restraints.
  8. We’ll address how to respond to emergencies in order to reduce collisions and how to interact with other individuals on the road.
  9. Regarding your actual car, we’ll cover different braking systems and techniques, how to perform preventative maintenance and what your responsibilities are legally and financially when you own a vehicle.
  10. Finally, we’ll go over how to properly and safely plan and execute a trip.

Supervised Driving

Along with your Joshua’s Law coursework, you must complete at least 40 hours of supervised driving. It’s mandatory that at least six of those hours be at night. This should be done with the parent-taught packet and is not included in the course itself. According to the state:

“Supervised driving” refers to driving experience obtained under the supervision of an individual that is at least 21 years old, possesses an unexpired Class C driver’s license, is seated next to the driver at all times while he or she is driving, and is capable of exercising control over the vehicle if necessary.

You don’t need to bring a log of your hours when you are applying for your provisional license, but a parent or guardian will need to be present. He or she will be required to swear or affirm under penalty of law that the teen applying for a license received 40 hours of supervised driving, 6 hours of which was at night.

The Georgia Department of Driver Services has issued a checklist of driving skills that you should be covering in your supervised driving.

You will need to practice:

  • Pre-driving checks and adjustments
  • Making accurate turns (left and right)
  • Backing up
  • Parking (perpendicular, angle and parallel)
  • Driving through intersections
  • Recognizing danger signs/conditions
  • Driving under adverse conditions (weather, congested traffic, road construction)
  • Driving in peak times on interstates
  • Starting, moving and stopping smoothly
  • Yielding the right-of-way
  • Railroad crossing
  • Changing lanes (checking blind spot)
  • Following safely behind other vehicles
  • Communicating with other drivers (turn signals and appropriate use of horn)
  • Adjusting speed, position and passing on highways
  • Traffic signal responses

Once you’ve completed our online class and your 40 hours of driving, you have met Joshua’s Law requirements and are eligible to get a provisional license.

What Is Joshua’s Law?

Senate Bill 226, also known as Joshua’s Law, was enacted in 2007 and named after Joshua Brown, a 17-year old who died in 2003. According to his father, Alan Brown, Joshua hydroplaned on a wet road and crashed into a tree. “We lose 44,000 Americans every year in car wrecks and it doesn’t have to be that way,” Brown said. According to local Georgia news around the time of the enactment of Joshua’s Law, “if only [Alan] Brown had known what to teach his son about driving, then the tragedy could’ve been prevented.”

Joshua’s parents founded the Joshua Brown Foundation, which lobbied legislators to increase drivers’ education requirements in Georgia. Joshua’s Law passed in 2005 and was enacted on January 1st, 2007.

According to SB 226, Joshua’s Law was written because “the death of this young man has underscored the need for a greater effort to train Georgia young people in how to drive.” It explains that the advancement of computer simulations and training has made driver education and training more affordable and convenient. Because of this, Georgia decided that “the state should assist in getting more young people into these driver education and training programs.”

Joshua’s law essentially added two elements to an already existing system in Georgia. Their licensing structure for teenagers is a three-tiered process (this is known as a graduated licensing system). Joshua’s law added a mandatory 30 hours of driver’s education and at least 40 hours of supervised driving, six of which must occur at night.

Do I Need a Learner’s Permit to Take the Driver’s Ed Course?

The short answer: No.

The long answer: Although you’re not required to take a Driver’s Ed course until you’re working on getting your provisional license, you still need to pass a vision test and knowledge test before getting your learner’s permit.

Spend some time going over the most recent Georgia Driver’s Manual. According to the Georgia Department of Driver Services, the knowledge test consists of the following:

  1. Road Rules Test
    1. The Road Rules Test consists of questions about driver responsibility, knowledge of laws and safe driving practices, applicable to the class of license for which the applicant applied.
  2. Road Signs Test
    1. The Road Signs Test consists of questions about the meaning of standard highway signs. You will be asked to identify certain signs, signals and markers.

After you’ve studied, you can take a practice test for free on their website.

Can I Get an Insurance Discount for Taking This Joshua’s Law Course?

Yes. Contact your insurance provider for more details. Discount percentages vary from provider to provider, unless the state mandates the discount.

Can I Get a Tax Credit for Taking This Course?

Yes. Georgia state law dictates that the parent of a minor who completes a Joshua’s Law Driver Education Class will get a tax credit for either $150 or the cost of the course (whichever is less). All you need to do is fill out Georgia Form IND-CR and include it with Form 500 when you file their taxes. Also, send proof that your teen has finished the class (our certificate of completion meets this requirement) and proof of the cost of the Joshua’s Law course (a course-issued receipt meets this requirement).

According to Georgia state law, this credit is only valid one per child, so even if your child takes multiple courses over the course of his or her life, you can only claim the tax credit for one. Also, make sure you use the credit during the year your child takes the course. It cannot be retroactively applied.

Does the Course Meet Georgia’s Alcohol and Drug Awareness Program Requirement?

No. Typically, most teens in Georgia complete this course during their freshman year of high school. Of course, if you were absent for the duration of the course, in a homeschool or private school where this course was not required, or you moved to Georgia after your freshman year of high school, you may still need to complete the class. If so, the Georgia Department of Driver Services offers this class online. Check out their current ADAP information page to learn more and see whether or not you are eligible.

What Do I Need to Get a Class D Driver’s License If I am 17?

If you are interested in obtaining a Provisional/Intermediate (Class D) License at 17 years old, all you need to do is complete at least 40 hours of supervised driving (at least six hours behind the wheel must be at night). The Joshua’s Law classroom hours are not mandatory for drivers who are willing to wait until they turn 17 to obtain their Class D Provisional License. Remember, the Provisional License rules will still apply even if you are 17 years old. You are only allowed to drive between the hours of 6 am and midnight, and for the first six months, you can only drive with immediate family. For the next six months, you are allowed to drive with no more than one passenger under 21 years old who is not immediate family. At this point, you’ll be turning 18 and will be eligible to apply for your Full Class C License.

What Is TADRA?

The Teenage and Adult Driver Responsibility Act (TADRA) was implemented in Georgia in the summer of 1997. By implementing a graduated driver’s licensing system, it targeted three major contributors to fatal driving accidents involving teenagers:

  1. Inexperience
  2. Driving under the influence of alcohol
  3. Speeding

What Is Georgia’s Graduated License System?

Basically, TADRA is comprised of several laws, one of which is the Graduated Drivers License (GDL) law. The GDL law put into effect three different tiers of licenses (or levels of licensure) to make sure that teenagers understand driving laws and how to deal with common driving challenges.

The program has three stages: Instructional permit, provisional/intermediate license (Class D), and full driver’s license (Class C).

What Is Required for Each Level of Licensure in Georgia’s Graduated Drivers License?

Instructional Permit – In order to be eligible for a permit, you must be at least 15 years old. Before you head to the DMV, you must have a parent, guardian or Driver’s Ed instructor sign your application. Also, you’re going to need to present a high school diploma, a GED or a certificate of attendance dated within the last 30 days. At the time of application make sure you bring the following:

  • One document to prove your identity (either a passport or birth certificate).
  • One document to prove you social security number (either a social security card or W-2).
  • Two documents to prove your residence (Bring your school records, report cards, certificate of attendance, or bank statement).

Finally, you’re going to need to pass a vision test and a written test when you apply. Once you pass the vision and written test, the state of Georgia will issue you a permit.

A learner’s permit is required for the behind the wheel driving. Don’t start practicing until you’ve gotten one. When driving with a permit, make sure you’re driving with a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old.

Provisional License – If you are interested in obtaining a provisional/intermediate (class D) license when you turn 16 years old, follow these simple steps:

  • Complete an approved driver’s education course. Our course meets the necessary Joshua’s Law requirements and is 100% online.
  • Complete at least 40 hours of supervised driving (at least six hours behind the wheel must be at night). According to the Georgia Governor’s Office of Highway Safety, you are allowed to complete your supervised driving hours concurrent to completing an approved driver education class as long as you already have a learner’s permit.
  • You do not need a learner’s permit for the classroom course or the virtual program; however, you will need a learner’s permit for one year and one day prior to being issued a Class D license.
  • If you are interested in obtaining a provisional/intermediate (class D) license at 17 years old, all you need to do is complete at least 40 hours of supervised driving (at least six hours behind the wheel must be at night).
  • Remember, all teens interested in a full, unrestricted license must also complete a certified Alcohol and Drug Awareness Program (ADAP) either in person or online.

Before you go to the DMV, you’ll need to have a parent, guardian or Driver’s Ed instructor sign your application. You’ll also need to present a high school diploma, a GED or a certificate of attendance dated within the last 30 days. At the time of application make sure you bring the following to the DMV:

  • One document to prove identity (either a passport or birth certificate).
  • One document to prove a social security number (either a social security card or W-2).
  • Two documents to prove residence (you can bring school records, report cards, certificate of attendance, or a bank statement).

You must also pass a vision test and a driving test when you apply. Once you pass the vision and driving test, the state of Florida will offer you your provisional license.

When driving with a provisional license, remember that you can only drive between the hours of 6 am and midnight. For the first six months, you can only drive with immediate family. For the next six months, you are allowed to drive with no more than one passenger under 21 years old who is not immediate family. Finally, for the next 6 months, you can drive with no more than three passengers under 21 years old who are not immediate family.

Unrestricted (Class C) License – You must be at least 18 years old. As long as you have not received any major traffic violations within the past year, you’re good to go. Major violations include:

  • DUIs
  • Reckless driving charges
  • Any violation worth four points or more

Where Is a Georgia DMV Near Me?

Georgia DMV locations and addresses include:

 

Location Area Served Full Address
Albany Dougherty 2062 Newton Rd

Albany, GA 31701

Alpharetta Fulton 11575 Maxwell Road

Alpharetta, GA 30009

Americus Sumter 1601 N. Martin Luther King Blvd

Suite 270

Americus, GA 31709

Athens Clarke 1505 US Highway 29 North

Athens, GA 30601

Atlanta Fulton 400 Whitehall Street SW

Atlanta, GA 30303

Augusta Richmond 3423 Mike Padgett Hwy

Augusta, GA 30916

Bainbridge Decatur 101 Airport Road

Bainbridge, GA 39817

Between Walton 1010 Heritage Parkway

Between, GA 30655

Blairsville Union 37 Chase Drive

Blairsville, GA 30512

Blue Ridge Fannin 211 Industrial Blvd

Blue Ridge, GA 30513

Brunswick Glynn 134 Jack Hartman Blvd

Brunswick, GA 31525

Calhoun Gordon 242 Public Safety Dr. SE

402 Belwood Rd (Previous Address)

Calhoun, GA 30701

Canton Cherokee 220 Brown Industrial Parkway

Suite 200

Canton, GA 30114

Carrollton Carroll 512 Old Newnan Road

Carrollton, GA 30117

Cartersville Bartow 1304 Joe Frank Harris Pkwy

Cartersville, GA 30121

Cedartown Polk 1626 Rockmart Highway

Cedartown, GA 30125

Columbus Muscogee 8397 Macon Rd

Midland, GA 31820

Conyers Rockdale 2206 Eastview Parkway NE

Conyers, GA 30013

Cordele Crisp 409 South Midway Rd

Cordele, GA 31015

Covington Newton 8134 Geiger St

Covington, GA 30014

Cumming Forsyth 400 Aquatic Circle

Cumming, GA 30040

Cuthbert Randolph 675 Blakely St

Cuthbert, GA 39840

Dallas Paulding 114 Justice Center Drive

Dallas, GA 30132

Dalton Whitfield 235 Wagner Road

Dalton, GA 30721

Decatur DeKalb 2801 Candler Road

Suite 82

Decatur, GA 30034

Douglas Coffee 348 Thomas Frier Sr Dr

Douglas, GA 31535

Dublin Laurens 620 County Farm Road

Dublin, GA 31021

Elberton Elbert 45 Forest Avenue

Elberton, GA 30635

Evans Columbia 4408 Evans to Locks Road

Evans, GA 30809

Fayetteville Fayette 749 West Lanier Ave

Suite 102

Fayetteville, GA 30214

Forest Park Clayton 5036 State Route 85

Forest Park, GA 30297

Fort Benning Chattahoochee 6691 Marchant Avenue

Bldg 217

Fort Benning, GA 31905

Gainesville Hall 1010 Aviation Blvd

Gainesville, GA 30501

Greensboro Greene 1180 C Weldon Smith Drive

Suite 108

Greensboro, GA 30642

Griffin Spalding 1313 Arthur K Bolton Pkwy

Griffin, GA 30223

Helena Telfair 351 8th Street

Helena, GA 31037

Hinesville Liberty 2301 Airport Rd

Hinesville, GA 31313

Jackson Butts 149 Riverview Park Rd

Jackson, GA 30233

Kennesaw Cobb 3690 Old 41 Hwy NW

Kennesaw, GA 30144

Kingsland Camden 333 South Ashley Street

Kingsland, GA 31548

LaGrange Troup 900 Dallis St

Suite B

LaGrange, GA 30240

Lawrenceville Gwinnett 310 Hurricane Shoals Rd NE

Lawrenceville, GA 30046

Lithonia DeKalb 8040 Rockbridge Rd

Lithonia, GA 30058

Locust Grove Henry 619 Tanger Blvd

Locust Grove, GA 30248

Macon Bibb 200 Cherry Street

Macon, GA 31201

Marietta Cobb 1605 County Services Pkwy

Marietta, GA 30008

Milledgeville Baldwin 200 Carl Vinson Rd

Milledgeville, GA 31061

Newnan Coweta 128 Bullsboro Drive

Newnan, GA 30263

Norcross Gwinnett 2211 Beaver Ruin Rd

Norcross, GA 30071

Perry Houston 450 Larry Walker Parkway

Perry, GA 31069

Reidsville Tattnall 3092 Ga. Hwy 147

Reidsville, GA 30453

Rincon Effingham 2792 Hwy 21 South

Rincon, GA 31326

Rock Spring Walker 156 Pin Oak Dr

Rock Spring, GA 30739

Rome Floyd 3390 Martha Berry Hwy NE

Rome, GA 30165

Sandersville Washington 115 Jones Street

Sandersville, GA 31082

Savannah Chatham 1117 Eisenhower Drive

Savannah, GA 31406

Statesboro Bulloch 19051 U.S. 301

Statesboro, GA 30461

Swainsboro Emanuel 994 Hwy 1 North

Swainsboro, GA 30401

Thomaston Upson 281 Knight Trail

Thomaston, GA 30286

Thomasville Thomas 4788 US 84 Bypass

Thomasville, GA 31792

Thomson McDuffie 172 Bob Kirk Rd

Thomson, GA 30824

Tifton Tift 3057 US Hwy 41 S.

Tifton, GA 31794

Toccoa Stephens 62 Doyle St

Toccoa, GA 30577

Trenton Dade 75 Case Ave

Trenton, GA 30752

Valdosta Lowndes 371 Gil Harbin Industrial Blvd

Valdosta, GA 31601

Warner Robins Houston 198 Carl Vinson Pkwy

Warner Robins, GA 31088

Waycross Ware 3029 Memorial Dr

Waycross, GA 31501

Sources:

Georgia Department of Driver Services: https://dds.georgia.gov/joshuas-law-requirements

Georgia Governor’s Office of Highway Safety: http://www.gahighwaysafety.org/fullpanel/uploads/files/tadra-001.pdf

Georgia Governor’s Office of Highway Safety: http://www.gahighwaysafety.org/highway-safety/joshuas-law/

Georgia Department of Driver Services: http://dds.georgia.gov/sites/dds.georgia.gov/files/related_files/document/ds-1.pdf

Georgia Department of Driver Services: https://dds.georgia.gov/alcohol-and-drug-awareness-program-adapeadap

Senate Bill 226: http://www.legis.ga.gov/Legislation/20052006/47993.pdf

Georgia Drivers Manual: http://www.eregulations.com/georgia/driver/

Georgia Department of Driver Services: https://dds.georgia.gov/practice-test

Georgia Department of Driver Services: https://dds.georgia.gov/alcohol-and-drug-awareness-program-adapeadap