Texas Driver’s Ed Courses Available Online

As the market leader in transportation safety e-learning solutions, the American Safety Council® offers three different driver’s ed courses for the state of Texas: parent-taught driver’s ed, online driver’s ed and the adult driving course.

The American Safety Council provides these TDLR-approved courses through easy-to-use web portal TexasDrivingSchool.com. All of the courses are available online, allowing for maximum convenience and 24/7 customer service support.

About the Parent-Taught Online Course

Driver’s education is authorized by the Texas Department of Public Safety to be completed outside of the classroom by a state-approved parent or other guardian. The Parent-Taught Driver’s Education (PTDE) course gives parents and students the opportunity to discuss driving basics and safety, while ensuring approved adult supervision during required driving hours.

This 100% online course requires of 32 hours of classroom instruction and 44 hours of driving instruction, which must include 10 hours of driving at night.

An approved adult instructs the student through the state’s parent-taught driver’s education packet, offering encouragement and detailed support to foster safe, defensive driving habits.

Teens between ages 14 and 17 are eligible. Students who are age 14 can take the first online module but must be 15 to continue the rest of the course and earn a learner’s permit.

You can begin the course and work toward a Texas driver’s license once you have your handbook and a PTDE packet.

Instructor Eligibility

The following adults are eligible—if requirements are met—to instruct students through this course:

  • Parents
  • Legal guardians
  • Stepparent
  • Grandparent
  • Step-grandparent
  • Foster parent

To be able to teach the course, a qualified adult must:

  • Have held a valid driver’s license for the past three years (if you have lived outside Texas during any part of the last three years, you need to bring the certified abstract driving record from the state you lived in previously when the student applies for a license)
  • Have no Driving Under the Influence (DUI) or Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) convictions or have received a probated sentence for DWI, DUI or Criminally Negligent Homicide
  • Not be disabled due to mental illness
  • Have fewer than six points on their driving record
  • Have not had their driver’s license suspended or revoked in the past three years

What is a Self-Taught Online Driver’s Ed Course?

Individuals pursuing the Texas online driving course can take the self-taught course at their convenience. There’s no approval process for the state-approved course, and you can take the course at your own pace.

Here’s what you need to know about how our online teen driver’s ed course works:

  • Like the parent-taught course, Texas teens 14 to 17 years old may sign up. Any 14-year-old can complete the first module of six hours, but teens must be 15 to continue on in the course.
  • The course includes safety driving habits and instructs on how to obey traffic laws.
  • After taking the permit exam, students will receive a Texas Driver’s Education Certificate in the mail.
  • Next, present the certificate and other needed documentation at the local Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) office. A parent or guardian must be present when a student presents the certificate at the DPS office.

Earning a Texas Driver’s License for Adults

Adults Age 18 to 24

The American Safety Council provides an easy and effective way to earn a driver’s license if you’re between the age of 18 and 24. If you’ve never had a driver’s license in Texas, you are required to take a TDLR-approved course. This course is completely online, allowing you to finish it at your own pace. All course material is user friendly.

Adults Age 25 and Older

The American Safety Council makes it easy for adults in Texas to earn a driver’s license. Our course is voluntary but recommended for first-time drivers.

The course teaches:

  • Motor vehicle basics
  • Texas traffic laws
  • Car safety features
  • How to avoid accidents
  • Rules of the road

Additionally, adults do not need to take a written rules test at the DPS office.

Follow these steps for your driver's license:

  • Make an appointment at the DPS office and pass the road test.
  • Show your certificate of completion to the driving school and Impact Texas Teen Driving program.
  • Identification documents and proof of school enrollment are required if parent-taught.
  • Proof of Texas registration and necessary documents outlining that the student does not own the vehicle.
  • Students younger than age 18 receive a vertical Texas provisional license that expires when you turn 18.

Get Started with Just One Click

Our driver’s ed courses for both teens and adults have no hidden fees. If you’re not satisfied, we offer a money-back guarantee.

Teens in our parent-taught course or individuals participating in our self-taught online option are able to take the state-approved education courses on their own time and their own terms. Even if you’re an adult, TexasDrivingSchool.com offers an adult driving course to get you out on the road.

Texas Driver’s Ed: Frequently Asked Questions

Can I take the parent-taught driver’s ed course?

Our Texas parent-taught driver’s ed is available to students between the ages of 14 and 17 who can be taught at home under the supervision of a qualified parent or legal guardian. Students who are 14 years old are eligible to complete the first module of this course. They can continue the course and apply for a learner’s permit at age 15.

Who can be a driver’s ed instructor?

A driver’s ed student’s parent, step-parent, grandparent, step-grandparent, foster parent or legal guardian may teach the parent-taught course if eligible. An adult with power of attorney is not sufficient. No other relative that those listed is permitted as an instructor.

In order to be an eligible instructor, the adult must have:

  • Not had his/her driver’s license suspended or revoked in the past three years
  • Less than six (6) points on his/her driving record
  • Held a valid driver’s license for the past three years (individuals who lived outside Texas during any part of the last three years must bring the certified abstract driving record from their former state when the student applies for a license)
  • No Driving Under the Influence or Driving While Intoxicated convictions or have received a probated sentence for DWI, DUI or Criminally Negligent Homicide
  • Not be disabled due to mental illness

Before signing up, instructors who are not sure if they meet the requirements should check their criminal record and driving record. If the TDLR determines the instructor is ineligible, none of the instruction will count and the student will not be issued a license.

This course is approved by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation and fulfills requirements for for driver education in Texas. The parent-taught option is an alternative to classroom instruction and can be completed at your own pace in the comfort of your own home.

How do I complete the parent-taught course?

To begin a parent-taught driver’s education course, the parent or legal guardian must complete the Parent-Taught Driver Education (P.T.D.E) packet from the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR). Then, the student receives their packet, reviews all of the materials and starts the course.

When the student completes the first unit and is at least 15 years old, they can apply for a learner’s permit. To apply, the student and parent/legal guardian bring the appropriate forms and documentation to the Texas Department of Public Safety office.

This information is included in the PTDE packet along with all of the necessary forms and the instructions needed to correctly complete them.

How long does the parent-taught driver’s ed course take?

The parent-taught course is 32 hours of online instruction, including six hours to complete the first module. Students can apply for a learner’s permit after completing the first module. Within three days, they receive a permit qualification certificate to take to the DMV when applying.

How do I get my PTDE packet?

There are two ways to request a PTDE packet:

  • CLICK HERE to request a packet online. This option costs $20 payable by credit card.
  • CLICK HERE for our online request form. The form must be printed and mailed with a $20 check or money order to the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation at:

Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation
PO Box 12157
Austin, TX 78711-2157

Am I eligible to take an online driver’s ed course?

Texas residents between the ages of 14-17 are eligible for the online driver’s ed course. Students who are 14 years old may complete up to the first six-hour module. Students age 15 or older can work past the first module and earn a learner’s permit.

How long does take to complete the online driver’s ed course?

The online driver’s ed course lasts 32 hours–the state’s minimum requirement. Students have 180 days from your registration date to complete the online course.

When can I start the online driver’s ed course?

You can get started on your course immediately after registration.

When can I apply for a permit?

To apply for a permit, a student must be 15 years old and have completed the first module of either the online parent-taught or self-taught courses.

Those taking the parent-taught course have the option of purchasing and taking the learner’s permit exam online. The Texas Online Driver’s Ed course includes the learner’s permit exam within the program.

What forms should I bring to the DPS office when applying for a learner’s permit?

When applying for a permit in-person at the DPS office, the student should bring these forms:

  • Documents proving residency and proper identification
  • Verification of Enrollment
  • Certificate of Completion for Module 1 (DE-964E Certificate)
  • Driver Education Affidavit (DL-90A)
  • Classroom Instruction Log (DL-91A)

How do I get my completion certificate?

Student either receive a free completion certificate in the mail 5-7 business days after submission or are emailed a downloadable version.

Sources:

Texas DPS: www.dps.texas.gov/DriverLicense/teenDriver.htm