Young Drivers

Driver Training: A Guide to Ohio’s Graduated Driver Licensing Law

  • Follow these steps to obtain an Ohio Driver License:
  • Purchase Temporary Packet at age 15 1/2 from Deputy Registrar.
  • Pass written and vision tests at Driver Examination Station. Receive Temporary Permit.
  • When driving with Temporary Permit, you must drive with your licensed parent, guardian or certified driving instructor seated beside you. When you turn 16, you may drive only with a licensed driver 21 or older.
  • (Restriction: No driving if under 17 between 1:00 a.m. and 5:00 a.m. unless with parent, guardian or custodian who holds a valid driver license.)
  • Obtain either commercial or high school driver education requirement consisting of 24 hours classroom instruction and eight hours of driving if you apply for your license before you turn 18.
  • Obtain 50 hours of actual driving experience, certified by your parent, with at least 10 of those hours at night before obtaining license under age 18. These hours are in addition to the driver education requirements.
  • Temporary Permit must be held for at least six months before obtaining a license under the age of 18.
  • At age 16, make an appointment at Driver License Examination Station and pass the driving and maneuverability tests.
  • Return to Deputy Registrar and purchase license. (Restriction: No driving if under 17 between 1:00 a.m. and 5:00 a.m. unless with parent or guardian, with exceptions for work, school or emergency.)
  • Note: Safety belts must be available to all passengers, and everyone must be buckled up for all holders of Temporary Permits and those licensed drivers under 18.
  • Total occupancy of a vehicle driven by an individual with a Temporary Permit or license by a driver under 18, must be no greater than the number of originally-installed safety belts.

< Back