Frequently Asked Questions
What are the benefits of the Defensive Driving Course?
The New York Defensive Driving course, also known as IPIRP, is a 100% online program that provides point and insurance reduction benefits. Upon completion of the course, the NYS DMV will reduce up to 4 points on your record from an eligible traffic violation. You will also qualify for a mandatory 10% discount to your insurance rate, which will remain valid for three years.
Who qualifies for the point reduction and insurance discount?
You can complete our online Defensive Driving course to reduce up to 4 points on your record and receive a mandatory 10% insurance discount. You will qualify for point reduction for any eligible traffic violation you received in the past 18 months. You can take this course for point reduction once every 18 months.
After graduating from the course, you will receive a certificate of completion that you can provide to your insurance provider to receive a mandatory 10% discount to your vehicle's liability, no-fault and collision insurance premiums. You can retake the course every three years to renew your discount.
Who should take the Defensive Driving course?
New York drivers who received a traffic violation can complete the Defensive Driving course to prevent up to 4 points from being added to their driving record. This benefit applies to eligible violations that occurred within the past 18 months. The DMV allows you to take a point reduction course once every 18 months.
You can also take this course voluntarily to qualify for a mandatory 10% discount to your auto insurance rate. Provide the course certificate to your insurance provider to receive a three-year discount on your vehicle's liability, no-fault and collision insurance premiums. You can retake the course every three years to renew your discount.
Who should take the 5-Hour Pre-Licensing course?
Our 5-Hour Pre-Licensing course is approved by the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles through American Safety Council. It is designed for New York drivers ages 18 and up who are seeking their first driver license. To register for the pre-licensing course, you must be at least 18 at the time of purchase and have a photo learner permit. You must complete this course before you schedule an appointment for your road test.
If you are seeking a junior driver license (Class DJ) or junior motorcycle license (Class MJ), the NYS DMV requires you to complete the pre-licensing course in person.
What will I learn in the 5-Hour Pre-Licensing course?
This course covers a wide range of topics that are important for new drivers to understand. Enjoy 270 minutes of narrated pre-license instruction. This program contains nine modules:
- Introduction to Safe Driving
- Driving Within the Highway Transportation System
- Rules of the Road
- Safe Driving Habits
- Safe Driving Skills
- Risks of Alcohol and Other Drugs
- New York State Laws
- Feelings, Attitudes and Taking Risks
- Aggressive Driving and Road Rage
The course does not have a final exam, but you will need to pass a brief quiz at the end of each module.
What will I learn in the Defensive Driving course?
This accident prevention course will refresh your knowledge of New York traffic laws and teach valuable skills to keep you safe on the road.
Course topics include:
- How to avoid crashes and accidents
- DWI prevention
- Aggressive driving and road rage
- Psychological factors
- Crash dynamics
- Avoiding impaired driving
- Safety equipment
- Following and stopping distances
- Vehicle emergencies and sharing the road
- Traffic signals and signs
- School busses and emergency vehicles
There is no final exam, but each of the course's four modules ends with a brief quiz.