Seat Belt Laws
Seat belt use is required for drivers and passengers in all seating positions both back and front in vehicles. A driver can be pulled over if an officer sees any person in the vehicle who is not buckled up. Fines for violators are $25.00 plus $15.00 in court processing fees for a total fine of $40.00.
Delaware's State wide set belt usage rate is 84%, its highest ever- and higher than the National rate of 82%!
Still, 1 out of every 6 Delawareans fails to buckle up consistently.