Driving Records Direct


There are eight shapes and eight colors of traffic signs. Each shape and each color has an exact meaning, so you must acquaint yourself with all of them.

GREEN: Guide, directional information.
RED: Stop, do not enter or wrong way.
BLUE: Motorist services guidance. Also used to identify parking spaces for  disabled drivers.
ORANGE: Construction and maintenance warning.
BROWN: Public recreation areas and scenic guidance.
YELLOW: General warning.
WHITE: Regulatory.
BLACK: Regulatory.

The shape of a road sign can tell you as much about the sign's message as its color.

Octagon: Exclusively for stop signs.
Horizontal Rectangle: Generally for guide signs.
Triangle: Exclusively for yield signs.
Pennant: Advance warning of no passing zones.
Diamond: Exclusively to warn of existing or possible hazards on roadways or adjacent areas.
Vertical Rectangle: Generally for regulatory signs.
Pentagon: School advance and school crossing signs.
Round: Railroad advance warning signs.
Crossbuck: Railroad crossing.

< Back