Earn Your Florida Boater Safety Card 100% Online
SafeMotorist’s Florida Boating Safety Course provides a convenient online training option for Floridians seeking a Florida Boating Safety Education Identification Card. This fully online course is designed to educate boaters on the responsibilities, risks and regulations that must be understood to operate a boat on Florida waters.
Immediately after you complete the course, you can download a temporary certificate of completion and start boating. You can legally operate a boat with this temporary certificate while you wait for your official boater education card to be delivered by the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission (FWC). Your temporary certificate is valid for 90 days.
Who Needs a Florida Boater Safety Card?
Florida residents who were born on or after Jan. 1, 1988, are required to obtain a Florida Boating Safety Education ID Card to legally operate a boat of 10 horsepower or more within the state. This card, available in a digital or print version, is issued by the FWC after course completion. Our course provides a temporary certificate that is valid for 90 days.
Benefits of the Online Florida Boating Safety Course
Our online course provides a variety of benefits, including:
- 100% Online Course
- Guaranteed to Pass
- Start Boating Instantly
- Temporary Boating Certificate Valid for 90 Days
- Boater Education Card Is Valid for Life
- Audio Narration Included
- Bulk Discounts Available
Learning Objectives for the Florida Boating Safety Course
The course educates Florida boaters on the responsibilities, risks and regulations that must be understood to properly operate a boat in the state.
Throughout 10 course modules, students will learn about:
- Boating in Florida
- Types of Boats
- Required Equipment
- Planning a Trip
- Preparing the Boat
- Operating Safety
- Navigation Rules
- Avoiding Hazards and Responding to Emergencies
- Other Water Activities
- Protecting the Environment
Learning objectives include:
- List and define parts of a boat and other basic nautical terms
- Explain how to select, wear and use personal flotation devices
- Explain how to identify dangerous weather and why it is important when planning a trip
- Describe the purpose and content of a float plan
- Explain how to obtain and adhere to local, state and federal laws and regulations for titling, registering or documenting a boat
- Define the operator’s responsibilities for proficiency and situational awareness
- Describe basic safe boating practices and seamanship
- Describe typical navigation rule situations and the operator’s obligations in each
- Identify and state the purpose of regulatory and informational markers
- Identify hazards associated with recreational boats, including carbon monoxide poisoning, propeller strikes, fires and running aground
- Outline federal and state laws and regulations regarding environmental protection and methods for adhering to those requirements
Course Testing Requirements
Students are required to pass five quizzes and a final exam in order to complete the course and qualify to earn a Florida Boating Safety ID Card from the FWC.
Each of the course’s 10 learning modules ends with a five-question quiz. You have an unlimited number of attempts to pass each quiz by earning a score of 80% or higher.
The course ends with a 60-question final exam that you have up to 180 minutes to complete. You have up to three attempts to pass the exam with a score of 80% or higher. If students do not pass the final exam within three tries, they are required to re-register for the course and purchase it again.
Frequently Asked Questions
Who needs a Florida Boating Safety Education ID Card?
Florida residents who were born on or after Jan. 1, 1988, are required to obtain a Florida Boating Safety Education Identification Card in order to legally operate a boat within the state. This card is needed to operate a boat that is 10 horsepower or greater.
Do I need a boating license in Florida?
The state of Florida does not technically have a boating license. The FWC-issued boater education card is proof that you successfully completed your state-required boating course. This card is valid for life and can be replaced by the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission free of charge.
Upon completion of our online course, you will:
- Receive a temporary certificate that allows you start boating immediately
- Qualify for your permanent Boater Safety Education ID from the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission
- Have the option to select between a mailed or emailed copy of the boater education card at the beginning of the course
Our Florida boating safety course meets the state of Florida's requirement for basic boater safety education. We will automatically report your completion to the FWC for issuance of your Boating Safety Education ID Card.
Does the course expire?
The course does not expire, so you can train at your own pace and take as long as you need.
How long is the Florida Boater Safety Course?
Our Florida Boater Education Course will take at least five hours to complete. The course contains module timers, and you will need to satisfy the minimum time requirement for each section.
How often must you renew your Florida boater education card?
Your Florida Boating Safety Education Identification Card will never expire, and it does not need to be renewed.
What are my next steps after completing the course?
Upon course completion, you can instantly download and print a temporary certificate that allows you to start boating immediately. This certificate will remain valid for 90 days.
You will receive your Florida Boating Safety Education ID card directly from Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission by email or mail, depending on the delivery method you selected at the start of the course. Your temporary certificate satisfies state requirements while you wait for your official card to arrive.
What if I need a replacement certificate or boater education card?
Duplicate temporary certificates may be printed from your course account. If you need a replacement for your Florida boater education card, you can call the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission at (850) 488-4676 to request one.
» Visit the FWC website for answers to more common questions