Drivers With Disabilities
Chapter 320.0848, Florida Statutes, allows for the issuance of disabled Parking Permits. Basic information is provided below:
- A current certification is required on the initial issuance of a disabled parking permit.
- Certification must be provided by a Physician, Osteopathic Physician, a Podiatric Physician, a Chiropractor, an Optometrist, an Advanced Registered Nurse Practitioner licensed under Chapter 464, under the protocol of a licensed Physician, a Physician Assistant licensed to practice under Chapter 458 or Chapter 459, or by a similarly licensed physician from another state. When certification is provided on form HSMV 83039 (revised 7/02 and later) the certifying authority's medical license number, the state they are licensed in, and their address must be shown.
- Disabled persons must have either a current Florida driver license or a Florida identification card issued by the Florida Division of Driver Licenses. The driver license or ID number must be affixed to the parking permit.
- The expiration date of the disabled person parking permit issued to an individual will be issued for a period up to 4 years to expire on the applicant's birthday.
- Organizations, who provide regular transportation service to disabled persons having disabilities that limit or impair their ability to walk or are certified as legally blind, must provide either a FEID number or a Florida sales tax registration number to be affixed to the disabled parking permit.
- Subsequent or additional parking permits may be issued to persons who are certified as a quadriplegic, or are frequent travelers. (A frequent traveler must indicate on the application form that they frequently travel by plane, train, bus or boat and need one permit to park their vehicle at the place of departure and another one to use at their destination.) Organizations may be issued as many as they have vehicles providing transportation to disabled persons.
- All parking permits must have a valid decal. Only parking permits with a yellow decal are valid.
- The fee for a four year disabled person parking permit is $1.50. The fee for a temporary disabled person parking permit is $15, including tax collector fees. If a second temporary disabled parking permit is issued within a 12 month period, the second temporary permit is issued for no fee regardless of the time period the physician had indicated it to be issued for, not to exceed 6 months.
- After the parking permit application has been completed and signed by the certifying authority, the applicant has the option of requesting a wheelchair license plate at the county tax collector's office. The current license plate is surrendered and the wheelchair plate is issued to expire on the same date as the one surrendered. The registration fee is required on this license plate annually in addition to proof of Florida insurance.