Arizona Online First-Time Driver Course FAQs
Who should take the Arizona First-Time Driver course?
The Arizona First-Time Driver Drug and Alcohol course is designed for new drivers in Arizona. This includes teens who have not yet obtained their Arizona instruction permit, as well as drivers with less than 100 hours of experience behind the wheel.
Students will learn how alcohol and drugs affect the body and impair your ability to drive safely. Arizona does not require new drivers to complete this course in order to earn their permit or driver license.
The course may satisfy a court requirement or qualify you for an auto insurance discount. Please check with your court or insurance provider to confirm.
Is this course 100% online?
Yes. You can take the course, including the final exam, completely online.
What are the benefits of the First-Time Driver course?
The First-Time Driver course is proven to reduce the risk of alcohol-related crashes among teenagers and young adults. Additionally, your insurance company may offer a discount on your auto insurance premium if you complete the course. Please contact your insurance provider for more information.
How long does the course take to complete?
The First-Time Driver course takes a minimum of four hours to complete. The course includes sections on safe driving practices, Arizona traffic laws and the effects of alcohol and drug use.
What topics are covered in this course?
The course is divided into six lessons:
- The Effects of Alcohol and Drugs
- Physiological Factors
- Psychological Factors
- Societal and Economic Costs of Alcohol and Drug Abuse
- The Effects of Alcohol and Drug Abuse on Driving
- Major Traffic Laws
Does the course have a final exam?
Yes. At the end of the course, you must pass a 25-question final exam that will test your understanding of information presented in the course. The questions are multiple choice, and you can see your grade as soon as you complete the exam. You must score at least 80% to pass the course.
How long do I have to complete the course?
Students must complete the Arizona First-Time Driver course within 90 days of purchase.
Is the First-Time Driver course state approved?
The Arizona First-Time Driver Course is an educational drug and alcohol awareness program that is not designed to meet any specific state requirements for driver education. However, the course may satisfy a court requirement related to a traffic violation. It may also qualify you for a discount on your auto insurance. Contact your insurance provider for more information.
What is your refund policy?
We hope that you are satisfied with your purchase and encourage you to contact us if you have any issues with the course.
You may be eligible for a refund if you have not completed the course, taken the final exam or received a completion certificate. Please visit our refund policy page to learn more.