Online Drug and Alcohol Training for Arizona Teens
SafeMotorist's Arizona First-Time Driver Drug and Alcohol course is designed to teach new drivers basic traffic laws and the fundamentals of safe driving. The four-hour online course also covers the effects of alcohol and drugs on your body and how these substances impact your driving ability.
This course has been proven to reduce the risk of alcohol-related crashes among teenagers and young adults. In a course effectiveness study, researchers found that 16- to 24-year-olds who took a First-Time Driver course were involved in significantly fewer alcohol-related crashes than those who had not taken the course.
Who Should Take This Course?
The First-Time Driver Drug and Alcohol course is ideal for teenagers who have not yet received their Arizona instruction permit and new drivers who have less than 100 hours of experience behind the wheel.
New drivers have an increased risk of accidents due to their lack of driving experience. Any amount of alcohol or drugs can greatly increase this risk. This course is especially important for teens, who often don't understand the dangers of intoxicated driving.
This course covers a wide range of topics related to drug and alcohol use, including:
- The Effects of Alcohol and Drugs
- Physiological Factors
- Psychological Factors
- Societal and Economic Costs of Alcohol and Drug Abuse
- The Effects of Alcohol and Drug Abuse on Driving
- Major Traffic Laws
You will also learn defensive driving strategies and tips for managing stress behind the wheel.
How It Works
The First-Time Driver Drug and Alcohol Course is a four-hour timed course that you can complete 100% online. You can access the course at any time and work through the lessons on your own schedule. After registering for the course, you will have 90 days to complete the training.
The course is split into multiple lessons and includes ungraded quizzes that help you review everything you've learned. In order to progress in the course, you must meet the minimum time requirement for each lesson. You must also pass a final exam at the end of the course.
Once you have completed the course and successfully passed your final exam, you will receive a certificate of completion in the mail. Please allow 7–10 days for delivery.
Auto Insurance Discount
Your First-Time Driver course completion certificate may qualify you for a discount on your auto insurance premium. Many insurance providers offer this benefit to customers who complete a drug and alcohol awareness course.
Your eligibility for the discount and the amount you'll save are determined by your insurance company. Please contact your insurance provider for more information.
Is This Course State Approved?
The First-Time Driver Drug and Alcohol course is not intended to meet specific Arizona requirements for driver education. This training may satisfy a court order following a traffic violation or qualify you for a discount on your auto insurance. Please contact your court or insurance provider to verify.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does the course have a final exam?
Yes. At the end of the course, there is a 25-question final exam that will test your knowledge and retention of information presented in the course. The questions are multiple choice, and you can see your grade as soon as you complete the exam. You must score at least 80% to pass the course.
How long do I have to complete the course?
Students must complete the Arizona First-Time Driver course within 90 days of purchase.
How long does the course take to complete?
The First-Time Driver course takes a minimum of four hours to complete. The course includes sections on safe driving practices, Arizona traffic laws and the effects of alcohol and drug use.
What is your refund policy?
You may be eligible for a refund if you have not completed the course, taken the final exam or received a completion certificate. Please visit our refund policy page to learn more.