Frequently Asked Questions
What is Parent-Taught Drivers Ed?
Our state-approved Parent-Taught Drivers Ed program is designed for teens ages 14 to 17 seeking their learner's permit. With this option, your driver education will be led by a parent or step-parent, legal guardian, foster parent, grandparent or step-grandparent. Your parent or another approved instructor will lead your training and teach you how to drive.
Who can teach Parent-Taught Drivers Ed?
You will need to submit an application to the TDLR and order a Parent-Taught Driver Education Program Guide to participate in the course. The TDLR must approve the instructor.
In addition to your mom or dad, eligible instructors can be a:
- Legal guardian
- Foster parent
Your parent, guardian or a court judge can also designate another person to lead the course that:
- Is at least 25 years old
- Doesn't charge a fee for instructing you
- Has seven or more years of driving experience
Visit the TDLR website to learn more about how to request approval for your instructor.
What is Self-Taught Drivers Ed?
The Self-Taught Drivers Ed program is a self-guided program for teens ages 14 to 17 who are seeking their learner's permit. Unlike Parent-Taught Drivers Ed, you will be responsible for your drivers ed training and won't need to get your parent approved with the TDLR to instruct the course.
If you are 15 to 17 years old, you can take your learner's permit exam as soon as you complete the first module of the Self-Taught Drivers Ed course. This will require at least six hours of online learning. The cost of the exam is included with the course.
What is Adult Drivers Ed?
Our TDLR-approved Adult Drivers Ed course is designed for new drivers ages 18 and up. Texas law requires this training for adults ages of 18 to 25 seeking their first driver's license. The course takes six hours to complete and includes a final exam that your Texas DPS office may accept as a replacement for your written license exam. Contact your local DPS office for additional information.
After you complete the course and earn your certificate of completion, you can make an appointment at the DMV for your driving test. You also need to take the free IMPACT Texas Drivers course and pass a behind-the-wheel driving test to earn your Texas driver's license.
Do all adults need to take the Adult Drivers Ed course?
According to Texas law, people ages 18 to 25 are required to complete an Adult Drivers Ed course prior to taking the road test for their first driver's license. Those older than 25 do not need to take the course to earn their license, but it is strongly encouraged.