About the Texas Self-Taught Drivers Ed Course

The Texas Self-Taught Drivers Education program provides teens ages 14 to 17 with the skills and knowledge they need to become safe and effective drivers. Our 100% online course is approved by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation and is a convenient alternative to in-person drivers education.

Topics covered in the course include Texas traffic laws, driver readiness, risk reduction and more. By completing the 32-hour course and the included learner's permit exam, you will satisfy state training requirements to earn your learner's permit.

The online format of our course allows you to complete your state-required drivers ed training on your own schedule. You can train at your own pace using any device. No need to attend a classroom or visit a driver license office to take your permit exam.

After you complete the course and pass your permit exam, you will receive a DE-964 certificate by mail. You will need to bring this certificate with you when you visit a Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) office to apply for your learner's permit.

Who Should Take Texas Self-Taught Drivers Education?

This self-paced course is designed for Texas teens ages 14 to 17 who are seeking their learner's permit. You can start the course at age 14, but you must be at least 15 to apply for your learner's permit.

If you are a new driver who is 18 or older, you should take the Texas Adult Drivers Education course.

Course Details

You can begin your drivers ed course immediately following registration. The course includes 12 learning modules and takes at least 32 hours complete. After you finish the first module, you can take your online permit test. Next, you will receive your DE-964 certificate in the mail. This certificate is a required document for your learner's permit that you will bring with you to the DMV.

This course uses voice biometrics to validate student identity. Before beginning the course, you will be asked to call a number on your screen and submit a voice sample. At various check-ins throughout your training, you will be prompted to call in and submit a new voice sample within 90 seconds.

Our voice biometrics system will compare each new voice sample to your original sample to ensure that you complete your training unassisted. You must successfully pass at least 70% of the voice biometric checks to complete the course.

Course Topics

The purpose of this drivers education course is to educate new drivers about traffic laws, rules of the road, defensive driving habits and driver responsibilities. Modules in this course include:

Module 1: Traffic Laws

  • Right of Way
  • Controlling Traffic Flow
  • Alcohol and Other Drugs
  • Cooperating with Other Roadway Users

Module 2: Driver Preparation

  • Vehicle Operations and Tasks
  • Occupant Protection
  • Symbols and Devices

Module 3: Vehicle Movements

  • Visual Attention, Mental Attention and Communication
  • Vehicle Balance
  • Vehicle Maneuvers

Module 4: Driver Readiness

  • Driving Practices
  • Safe Driver Characteristics
  • Aggressive Driving

Module 5: Risk Reduction

  • Risk Factors
  • Space Management
  • Emotions and Driving

Module 6: Environmental Factors

  • Environmental Characteristics
  • Environmental Risk Factors
  • Expressways and High-Risk Driving Environments

Module 7: Distractions

  • Common Distractions
  • Multi-Task Performances

Module 8: Alcohol and Other Drugs

  • Nature of Alcohol-Related Crash Problems
  • Physiological Effects of Alcohol on the Driving Task
  • Physiological Effects of Drugs on the Driving Task
  • Zero Tolerance in the Driving Environment

Module 9: Adverse Conditions

  • Adverse Weather
  • Reduced Visibility Conditions
  • Traction Loss

Module 10: Vehicle Requirements

  • Vehicle Malfunctions
  • Vehicle Maintenance
  • Trip Planning

Module 11: Consumer Responsibility

  • Vehicle Use and Ownership
  • Vehicle Insurance
  • Environmental Protection and Litter Prevention
  • Recreational Water Safety

Module 12: Personal Responsibility

  • Driver Licensing

Each module contains a timer. Students may not advance to the next module until they have met the timing requirements for the current module.

Testing Requirements

Throughout the drivers ed course, you will take a series of 10-question practice quizzes that help you review important learning topics. You can retake each quiz until you answer each question correctly.

Each course module ends with a brief exam on the lesson. You have up to three tries to score at least 70% on each quiz to advance in the course. If you fail three module exams, you will be locked out of the course and must re-register to continue your training.

After you complete Module 1 of the course, which takes at least six hours, you will take your online learner's permit exam. The exam includes a section on highway signs and a section on traffic laws. Each section contains 15 questions, and you have 30 minutes to finish. You have up to three attempts to score at least 70% on each section. If you fail either section, you must wait at least 24 hours before trying again. Students who do not pass the exam within three attempts will be required to pay an additional fee to retake the exam.

Once you successfully pass the exam, we will mail you the DE-964 certificate for your learner's permit application. You must visit a local DPS office with a parent or guardian and present the certificate to receive your learner's permit.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is this driver education course approved by the state of Texas?

Yes. This course is approved by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation. You can find our approval on the TDLR website under American Safety Council, who owns and operates SafeMotorist.

Do I have to complete the Texas Drivers Ed course in one sitting?

No. Our system saves your progress each time you log out. When you log back in, you can resume exactly where you left off.

What do I need to apply for a Texas learner's permit?

To apply for a Texas learner's permit, you will need:

  • DE-964E Certificate for Learner License Only (provided after completing module 1 of the drivers ed course)
  • Verification of Enrollment and Attendance (or a high school diploma/GED)
  • Identifying documents
    • Proof of identification
    • Proof of Social Security Number
    • Proof of U.S. citizenship
    • Proof of Texas residency

What do I need to apply for a Texas driver license?

To apply for a Texas driver license, you will need to provide:

  • DE-964E Certificate for Driver License Only (provided after fully completing the drivers ed course)
  • Impact Texas Teen Drivers certificate of completion
  • Verification of Enrollment and Attendance (or a high school diploma/GED)
  • Identifying documents
    • Proof of identification
    • Proof of Social Security number
    • Proof of U.S. citizenship
    • Proof of Texas residency
  • Proof of vehicle registration
  • Proof of financial responsibility for vehicle owner

Do I need to complete drivers ed to get my license?

If you are seeking a Texas driver license, you are required to complete 32 hours of TDLR-approved drivers education and 44 hours of driving practice with a parent or commercial driving school. This online course is a state-accepted alternative to in-person classroom training.

What is behind-the-wheel training?

The state of Texas requires students to complete 44 hours of behind-the-wheel training with an eligible parent/guardian or driving school instructor. After you complete the first module of the course and earn your learner's permit, you must choose to complete your driving practice with a driving school or an approved family member.

What is the Impact Texas Teen Drivers program?

The Impact Texas Teen Drivers (ITTD) program is a free, two-hour video that explains the importance of distraction-free driving. The Texas Department of Public Safety requires all drivers to complete the Impact program before they take the driving skills exam for their Texas driver license.

Texas Self-Taught Drivers Ed

$
Enroll Now