100% Online Course 100% Online 
Powered By:
American Safety Council Logo

About the Texas Defensive Driving Safety Course

SafeMotorist's Texas Defensive Driving course is a state-licensed Driving Safety class that makes it easy to dismiss an eligible traffic ticket and avoid an increase to your insurance rate. In addition, many auto insurance companies provide a 10% insurance discount for three years when you provide your certificate of completion.

Our six-hour online Defensive Driving course is approved by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) for ticket dismissal and is accepted by all Texas county courts. Skip in-person traffic school and complete your Texas defensive driving course online and at your own pace.

In addition to dismissing an eligible ticket and saving money on your insurance, you will learn defensive driving strategies that help prevent accidents and make you a safer, more effective driver.

Course Details

With our online Texas Driving Safety course, you can learn defensive driving skills from anywhere with internet access. You can even complete the online course on your mobile device!

Our six-hour course allows you to log on and off as needed without losing your place. Train at your own pace whenever it's convenient for your schedule. No in-person traffic school or testing is required, and there's no final exam.

You will need to complete four timed course modules and pass four quizzes. Students are required to spend at least five hours in the course and take multiple 15-minute breaks. After you complete each section, pass each module quiz and satisfy the minimum time requirement, you will satisfy the requirements for your certificate of completion.

Your certificate will be available to download and print seven days after you complete the course. We also offer expedited delivery and mail delivery options, including standard mail, overnight shipping, rush processing and instant digital delivery.

This course uses identity validation techniques to make sure you complete the course unassisted. Upon registration, you will be prompted to answer ten personal security questions. These questions will appear on your screen throughout the course, and you will have 45 seconds to answer each one correctly.

If you answer four identity validation questions incorrectly, you will be locked out of the course. You may click the link that appears on your screen to contact customer support, verify your identity and resume your training.

Texas Ticket Dismissal Requirements

This online Defensive Driving course is approved by the TDLR to dismiss eligible traffic tickets. By dismissing your ticket, you can avoid additional points on your license and penalties such as a driver license suspension or higher insurance rates.

The general requirements for ticket dismissal in the state of Texas are as follows:

  • You must possess a valid non-commercial driver license or permit (CDL holders are not eligible for ticket dismissal)
  • You must admit guilt or sign a statement that you do not contest the citation
  • You must not have dismissed a traffic ticket within the past 12 months
  • You must submit a Defensive Driving certificate and a Type 3A driving record to the county court
  • If you received a speeding citation, your violation cannot be 25 mph over the posted limit or more

You can order your certified Type 3A driving record from SafeMotorist and receive it by email within one hour. This record contains a full list of any violations on your record, past accidents, points on your record and your current driver license status.

Defensive Driving Course Insurance Discount

Most auto insurance companies in Texas will provide up to 10% off the liability portion of your insurance after you successfully complete a state-approved defensive driving safety course. The amount of your discount is at the discretion of your insurance provider.

To receive your discount, you will need to send a copy of your defensive driving course certificate to your insurance provider. Your discount will be valid for three years, and you can even retake the Driving Safety Course every three years to renew your discount.

For detailed information about how much you will save and how to submit your certificate, please contact your insurance company.

Course Topics

The Texas Defensive Driving course covers a wide range of topics on accident prevention and driver safety.

The training program is divided into four modules:

  1. Traffic Crashes
  2. Psychological Factors
  3. Crash Dynamics
  4. The Point System and Licensing Actions

Throughout the course, you will learn about:

  • Crash prevention strategies
  • Crash dynamics
  • Traffic safety problems
  • Psychological factors
  • Impaired drivers
  • Restraints and brakes
  • Airbags
  • Vehicle maintenance
  • The Texas point system
  • Licensing actions

Testing Requirements

Students are required to take a quiz on each of the course's four learning modules:

  1. Traffic Crashes
  2. Psychological Factors
  3. Crash Dynamics
  4. The Point System and Licensing Actions

Quiz questions are multiple choice, and the course does not have a final exam. To pass the course, you must score at least 70% on each module quiz. You have up to three attempts to pass each quiz. If you do not pass a quiz in three attempts, you will be locked out of the course and must re-register.

You will successfully complete the course when you meet the six-hour time requirement and pass all four quizzes. Your official certificate will be available for free download seven days after course completion.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is this online Defensive Driving course state approved?

Yes. Our online Texas Defensive Driving course is approved for ticket dismissal by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation and accepted by all Texas county courts. To verify our Driving Safety Course approval, visit the TDLR website. Our approval is for American Safety Council, who owns and operates SafeMotorist.com.

Is my traffic ticket eligible for dismissal?

Check with the county where you received your ticket to confirm whether your citation is eligible for dismissal. Reasons your ticket may not be dismissible include:

  • It is a speeding ticket where you were cited for driving 25 mph or more over the speed limit
  • You have already dismissed a traffic ticket in the last 12 months
  • You pleaded not guilty in response to the citation
  • You possess a commercial driver License (CDL)

To qualify for dismissal, you must plead guilty to the citation or sign a statement that you do not contest the citation. CDL holders in Texas cannot complete this Driving Safety Course to dismiss a ticket.

How do I dismiss my Texas traffic ticket?

Before you register for our online Defensive Driving course, you should confirm that your ticket is eligible for dismissal. If you're not sure if you qualify, you can check with the county court in the county where you received your ticket.

If you are eligible for ticket dismissal, follow these steps:

  1. Sign up for the Texas Defensive Driving course. Ensure all your personal information is accurate.
  2. Order your Texas Type 3A Certified driving record. All Texas courts require you to submit your driving record in addition to a defensive driving course certificate of completion.
  3. Complete your online course and pass all quizzes to earn your certificate of completion. You must complete the course within 90 days of registration.
  4. Print your certificate of completion, which is available to download seven days after you complete the course. You can also pay an additional fee to download your certificate instantly or request a paper certificate with expedited shipping.
  5. Bring your certificate and driving record to the county court.
  6. Check your record in about 30 days to make sure the ticket was dismissed.

Dismissing a traffic ticket prevents your insurance premiums from increasing as a result of ticket points.

How long will it take to complete the Texas Defensive Driving course?

Texas requires Driving Safety Courses to be at least six hours long. Our TDLR-approved Defensive Driving course includes five hours of instruction and one hour of mandatory break periods. Unlike in-person traffic school, you can set your own schedule and take breaks anytime.

When will I receive my certificate of completion?

Your official certificate will be available for free download seven days after course completion. If you would like to receive your certificate in the mail or upgrade to instant digital delivery, you can make these changes during registration. Overnight shipping and rush processing are available for mailed certificates.

How do I get my Texas driving record?

You can order your official Texas driving record online from SafeMotorist. Your certified Type 3A driving record, which you must provide to the court along with your defensive driving certificate of completion for ticket dismissal, will be delivered to you within one hour via email.

» Additional Defensive Driving FAQs

Texas Defensive Driving Course Online