New Jersey Online First-Time Driver Course FAQs
Who should take the New Jersey First-Time Driver Course?
The New Jersey First-Time Driver Drug and Alcohol Course, also known as the Drug, Alcohol and Traffic Awareness (DATA) course, is designed for new drivers in New Jersey. This includes teens who haven't obtained their learner's permit and drivers with less than 100 hours of experience behind the wheel.
The course teaches new drivers how alcohol and illicit drugs affect the body and impair your ability to drive safely. While New Jersey does not require new drivers to complete this course to earn a learner permit or driver license, it may satisfy a court requirement or qualify you for an auto insurance discount.
Is this course 100% online?
Yes. You can complete the entire course and final exam from your home or anywhere with internet access.
What are the benefits of the First-Time Driver Course?
The course curriculum is proven to reduce the risk of alcohol-related crashes among teenagers and young adults. Your insurance company may also provide a discount on your insurance premium if you complete the course. To find out if you are eligible for a discount, contact your insurance provider.
How long does the course take to complete?
This course includes four hours of education on safe driving fundamentals, traffic laws and the effects of alcohol and illicit drugs.
What topics are covered in this course?
In this course, you'll learn about:
- The rate at which alcohol and other drugs are absorbed into the body
- The effects of illicit drugs and alcohol on the body
- Ways substances of abuse can affect your motor skills
- The legal and economic costs to society associated with drug abuse
- DUI laws, basic traffic laws and situations where your driving privilege will be suspended
- Techniques for dealing with stress and emotional distress while driving
The goal of the course is to educate new drivers about the risks of impaired driving and prevent accidents caused by drug or alcohol use.
Does the course have a final exam?
Yes, the course concludes with a 25-question final exam that tests your knowledge of the program. The questions are multiple choice, and it is graded as soon as you complete it. You must score at least 80% to pass the course.
How long do I have to complete the course?
Students are required to complete the New Jersey First-Time Driver Course within 90 days of purchase.
Is the First-Time Driver Course state approved?
The New Jersey First-Time Driver Course is an educational drug and alcohol awareness program that is not designed to meet any specific state requirements for driver education. However, the course may satisfy a court requirement related to a traffic violation. It may also qualify you for a discount on your auto insurance. Contact your insurance provider for more information.