Minimum State Insurance Requirements
The state of Kentucky follows a No-Fault system meaning your insurance company will make payments for your injury claims regardless of fault, up to a specified limit. You should be aware that the details of a no-fault system vary from state to state and it is best to check with your state insurance regulator. Visit our State Insurance Regulators page for a list of links to all the state insurance regulators websites.
Kentucky state law requires a minimum coverage of $25,000 per injured person up to a total of $50,000 for everyone hurt in the accident, and coverage of $10,000 for property damages. This basic coverage is often referred to as a 25/50/10 coverage.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP) in your coverage helps pay for "reasonable and necessary" medical expenses for you and your passengers. While Kentucky state law does not require a minimum Personal Injury Protection, most insurers offer this as an optional coverage.