Graduated License

Missouri's Graduated Driver License law requires that all first-time drivers between 15 and 18 years old complete a period of driving with a licensed driver (Instruction Permit), followed by a period of restricted driving (Intermediate License), before getting a full license.

  • If the permit holder is under 16 years old, the accompanying licensed driver must be their parent, step parent, grandparent, legal guardian*, or a certified driver training instructor employed by a federal residential job training program; or in case of disability, their designee. If the permit holder is enrolled in a driver training program, the driver may also operate a motor vehicle while a qualified driver training instructor occupies the seat beside the driver. Qualified driver training instructors are defined as instructors who have a valid driver education endorsement on a teaching certificate issued by the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education, or an instructor with a private driver education program.
  • If the permit holder is 16 years old or older, the accompanying driver can be any person who is at least 21 years old and has a valid driver license.

At age 16, the driver may obtain an Intermediate License. The Intermediate License allows the driver to drive alone except under certain conditions during a late night curfew (1:00 am to 5:00 am). The driver and passengers must use seat belts, be free of alcohol and drugs and obey the traffic laws.

At age 18, the driver may apply for a Full License.

Instruction Permit Eligible Age: 15

Issuance Requirements:

  • Pass the vision, road sign, and written tests. IMPORTANT: Your Test paper alone is not legal for driving. You must apply for an Instruction Permit at a Missouri driver license office in order to drive legally. To meet the requirements for an Intermediate License, you must have an Instruction Permit for a minimum of 6 months. This time is calculated as 182 days beginning the day after the issuance date of the Instruction Permit. Parent, step parent, or legal guardian* must accompany the teen to the license office to sign a permission statement.

Driving Restrictions:

  • If the permit holder is under 16 years old, the Instruction Permit may only be used when accompanied, in the front seat, by a parent, step parent, grandparent, legal guardian*, or a qualified driving instructor. If the permit holder is 16 years or older, the person occupying the seat beside the driver must be at least 21 and have a valid license.

Cost: $3.50, Valid for 12 months

Intermediate License Eligible Age: 16 to 18

Issuance Requirements:

  • Pass the vision, road sign, and written tests if results are over a year old and no Instruction Permit was issued.
  • Pass the driving test. IMPORTANT: Your Test paper alone is not legal for driving. You must apply for an Intermediate License at a Missouri driver license office in order to drive legally. To meet the requirements for an Intermediate License, you must have an Instruction Permit for a minimum of 6 months. This time is calculated as 182 days beginning the day after the issuance date of the Instruction Permit.
  • Must drive with an Instruction Permit for a minimum of 6 months. This is calculated by counting 182 days after the issuance date of the Instruction Permit not including the actual issuance date.
  • Parent, step parent, grandparent or legal guardian* must accompany the teen to the license office to verify that the teen has received 20 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction with an Instruction Permit.
  • No alcohol-related offenses in last 12 months; no traffic convictions in last 6 months

Driving Restrictions:

  • Seat belts required for driver and all passengers.
  • No driving alone between 1:00 a.m.–5:00 a.m. except to and from a school activity, job, or an emergency as defined by the Director of Revenue, or unless accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old.

Cost: $7.50, Valid for 2 years

Under 21 Full License Eligible Age: 18

Issuance Requirements:

  • Pass the vision and road sign recognition tests.
  • Do not need to pass the written and driving tests if already completed Intermediate License cannot be suspended, revoked, or denied when applying for a full driver license No alcohol-related offenses or traffic convictions within the last 12 months.

NOTE: Any applicant between the ages of 18 and 21 may apply for an Under-21 full driver license, even if they have not had an Instruction Permit.

Cost: $10.00, Valid for 3 years

< Back