New Hampshire has a graduated licensing law.
- New Hampshire has no Learner’s Permits. In order to practice driving, a person must be at least 15 years and 6 months old, and have the consent of a parent or guardian. People practicing driving cannot drive unsupervised.
- Youth Operator License: May be obtained after reaching the age of 16, with at least 20 hours driving experience, completion of driver education, and passing a driving test.
- Passenger Restrictions: Drivers with Youth Operator Licenses may not carry more than 1 passenger younger than 25 years of age, other than family members, unless supervised.
- Nighttime Driving Restrictions: Drivers with Youth Operator Licenses must not drive between 1 a.m. and 5 a.m.
- Full licensure: Nighttime driving restrictions end after 13 months or at age 18, whichever comes first, and passenger restrictions end after 6 months or at age 18, whichever comes first. Crashes or violations may delay the process.