Title XXI. Motor Vehicles. Chapter 265. Rules of the Road, Special Rules for Motorcycles. Section 265.122 Protective Headgear:
I. No person less than 18 years of age may drive or ride upon a motorcycle unless he wears protective headgear of a type approved by the director. Such headgear shall be equipped with either a neck or chin strap.
II. The director is hereby authorized and empowered to adopt rules pursuant to RSA 260:5 covering the types of protective headgear and the specifications therefore and to establish and maintain a list of approved headgear which meet his established specifications.
III. If federal law is altered so that the mandatory wearing of protective headgear on motorcycles by persons less than 18 years of age is not required as a condition to the receipt by the state of any federal funds, paragraphs I and II shall be void.
IV. Any motorcycle operator who transports a person under the age of 18 years, when such person is in violation of paragraph I, shall be guilty of a violation.
Fine for helmet/eye protection and other motor vehicle violations is — $43.20
We are currently researching the New Hampshire regulations to determine exactly what standard they had adopted to define "protective headgear". Apparently the "director" approved New Hampshire's so-called safety equipment.