Rhode Island state law requires a minimum coverage of $25,000 per injured person up to a total of $50,000 for everyone hurt in the accident, and coverage of $25,000 for property damages. This basic coverage is often referred to as a 25/50/25 coverage.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP) in your coverage helps pay for "reasonable and necessary" medical expenses for you and your passengers. While Rhode Island state law does not require a minimum Personal Injury Protection, most insurers offer this as an optional coverage.
To help protect against damages caused to you and your passengers by an uninsured driver, Rhode Island state law requires a minimum UnInsured/UnderInsured Motorist coverage of $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident for any bodily injury caused by the uninsured driver.